The Death Song

A usual sudden morning,
Waking up from the dreams
Seen with open eyes
In these long sleepless nights.
I see the dark brown curtains
And a ray of dark light
Trying to lighten up
The dullness of my mind.
The room is often dark these days,
Just like those under eyes.
No amount of any whites
Can turn either of them bright.
I try to open the window,
Now jammed for some time
To let some freshness enter
To cleanse my lonely crimes.
All I can hear is
A sad death song playing
I feel like dancing freely
After almost a decade now.
I close my eyes tacitly
So my mind can finally drive
Through all the barriers
In this room and outside.
As soon the song comes to an end,
My eyes try to remain closed,
Waiting for another round,
Before it’s all over dozed.
168th song,
repeated 9 times,
Helps me finally reach
the much awaited night.
Resting my head with open eyes,
Waiting to hear the last line,
I sleep on this death song
After thirty four nights.

Published by Manvi Sharma

The visible phantom of my thoughts

Leave a comment